Through the Lens Thursday: Tickled by Wanderlust

Since I was 14, I’d dreamed about coming to Japan for an extended stay. I love it here, but something has changed. When I think of where I’ll be getting my morning coffee next year, I’m not thinking about my favorite coffee and confectionery dealer in Sabae’s Yokoecho. Instead, I’m thinking about taking down the purified forty-weight you can find in Old Montreal. I sometimes think about the alcohol-infused offerings at Boulder Coffee back home in Rochester.

In short, both wanderlust and the want to get home are making my feet extremely itchy. I’m going to do what I can to make my last five months in Japan memorable, but I’ll be glad to bid her salty shores farewell when I go — for a little while, anyway.

Leave a Reply

